clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tennessee Volunteers National Signing Day: All-Day Open Thread

Complete list of today's signees and early enrollees (as of 11:45 a.m. EST) with initial impressions up top on the front page.

It's here!  Today is the first Wednesday of February, which is famously known to stalkers of 17-18 year old males as National Signing Day.

There are a lot of stories on tap for this year.  Like last year, we get to see the handiwork of a brand new coaching staff.  (Unlike last year, this one says 'britches'.)  We're straight in the middle of football's equivalent of the nuclear arms race with schools like Alabama, Auburn, Georgia, Florida, LSU, Ole Miss, South Carolina, and Arkansas; there are also those pesky third-world non-SEC players to consider as well.

Here's the way things are working on Rocky Top Talk.

This thread is be the all-day open discussion thread for everything pertaining to National Signing Day.  We are going to provide many other posts as well; with each letter of intent that hits the UT fax machine, we'll provide a feature post for that new Vol.  (WOO!)  However, we kindly ask for all conversation to re-direct back to this post so that we can keep a more organic, sports-bar feel to the day that should be a lot more fun for everyone.  It's no big deal if you don't, but you'll find that discussions are a lot easier to maintain this way.

Don't forget about the podcast tonight at 9 PM.

We'll discuss the day and the shape of the football program once we've had a chance to catch our breaths.  Like our other podcasts, there will be a post here that you can use to access the podcast in real time (or afterwards if you wish).

[Note by Joel, 02/03/10 6:40 AM EST ] Scheduled announcements, courtesy of GVX's Dave Hooker:

7-7:30 am - Zach Fulton

8 am - Marcques Dixon ([Note by Joel, 02/03/10 8:20 AM EST ] Multiple reports on Twitter say that Dixon's on his way to sign. Should be about 8:20 or 8:30)

8:30 am - Eddrick Loften

8:30 am - Markeith Ambles

9 am - John Probst

9:45 am - Da'Rick Rogers and Nash Nance

10:30 am - Mychal Rivera

11:30 - James Stone

1 pm - Martaze Jackson