clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 SEC Tournament: Tennessee Vols vs Vanderbilt Commodores Game Thread

The Tennessee Volunteers are taking on the Vanderbilt Commodores in the first round of the SEC Tournament.

David Manning-USA TODAY Sports

The 11-seed Tennessee Volunteers are in Hoover, Alabama at the SEC Tournament for the first time since 2007.  They earned their way into the tournament by defeating the SEC regular season champion Florida Gators on Saturday.  Standing between the Vols and the double elimination portion of the tournament are in-state rivals, and 6-seed, Vanderbilt Commodores. Both teams are coming off of series losses, Tennessee dropped two games against Florida and Vanderbilt fell twice to South Carolina.  Tennessee and Vandy played a three game series earlier this season in Knoxville, where the Vols took the series two games to one.

The last time the Vols were in the SEC tournament they defeated eventual tournament champion Vanderbilt in the first round.  Losses to Mississippi and Vanderbilt (both in the second round) eliminated Tennessee that year.  Vanderbilt has been to the previous three SEC Tournament Championship games, losing to Florida, Mississippi State, and LSU.

The winner of this game will take on the 3-seed Louisiana State University Tigers Wednesday at 10:30 a.m. ET, and the loser will be heading home to wait on the NCAA tournament selections.  The Vols are looking to make the NCAA tournament  for the first time since 2005, but the majority of national writers agree that Tennessee needs to win multiple games this week in order to be included.

Tennessee (31-22) (12-18) (RPI: 45) vs #18 Vanderbilt (40-16) (17-13) (RPI: 6)

Tuesday May 20, 2014
First Pitch: 10:30 a.m. ET at Hoover Metropolitan Stadium, Hoover, Alabama
Television: Fox South
Live Audio: UT Sports
Live Stats: SEC Digital Network

Starting Pitchers: UT RHP Hunter Martin (4-3, 3.12) vs VU RHP Walker Buehler (9-2, 2.31)

Probable Starters

Tennessee Volunteers

C David Houser
1B Scott Price
2B Will Maddox
3B Taylor Smart
SS A.J. Simcox
LF Christin Stewart
CF Vincent Jackson
RF Derek Lance
DH Nick Senzel

Vanderbilt Commodores

C Jason Delay
1B Zander Wiel
2B Dansby Swanson
3B Xavier Turner
SS Vince Conde
LF Bryan Reynolds
CF John Norwood
RF Rhett Wiseman
DH Ro Coleman